Welcome to Chellelandia.

Hope from a chicken plate and the setting sun

About 2 weeks ago, I went to Cebu City for an… event that could make or break my career. Ok, well, not really “break” if things don’t go my way, but my heart would definitely break if it doesn’t. 🙂

This event was an interview for a promotion. I’ve been holding the same position in my job for more than 5 years now and I feel that it’s time for a step up career-wise. Things are a bit complicated in our agency right now when it comes organizational structure, but I’m at a point in my life where I’m willing to move to Cebu if that’s what it takes for me to get this promotion.

The vacant position that I’m aiming for is open to current agency employees and outsiders. There were 2 of us vying for it. I know the other person and I know that she’s just as capable when it comes to writing and handling information programs, so I knew I had to step up my game during the interview and trade tests.

The interview went as I expected but the trade test… it was, in short, a mental hemorrhage. If I could, I would have nosebled all over the exam papers. I started the exam at 1:30 and finished it almost 5:00 p.m. For more than 3 hours, it was an exercise in mental torture as I squeezed my brain for answers. It was essay form and required me to write communication plans, re-write news items for clarity (this was the easy part), draft suggestions to address communication problems and all that. The competitive streak in me refused to let go until I’ve crossed all t’s and dotted all my i’s. By the time I was done, I felt so drained, like my brains went through a juicer and squished to a pulp. This must be how it feels like to be a zombie!

The results will be out sometime end of this month. I hope that I’ll be hearing some good news before I leave for Malaysia. It would be nice to unwind and relax in Kuala Lumpur knowing that I have been promoted.

So right after that zombie-inducing exam, I immediately chowed down on some brain fuel: food. A big plate of my favorite Max’s Fried Chicken. Nobody does fried chicken like Max’s. It’s juicy, crispy on the outside, and just so good. I always try to make it a point to eat there whenever I find myself in Cebu.

I also ordered their Sinigang na Tiyan ng Bangus (milkfish belly, my favorite!).

The sinigang was served steaming hot. The tamarind-based soup had just the right amount of sour kick in it. It was also chock full of vegetables.

My appetite (sadly or happily?) is not the same as it was before. I couldn’t finish my plate of fried chicken. I used to be able to wipe it clean!

But despite that, I felt a fresh wave of energy and enthusiasm. I guess a full stomach can do that. The next day, I left Cebu and took a bus-and-boat trip back to Dumaguete. The sun was setting as we took the boat trip. It was a wonderful view.

With Max’s delicious chicken still lingering in my taste buds, I lifted my face to the slowly descending sun, and thought: “Whatever should happen, will happen.”

2 Responses to “Hope from a chicken plate and the setting sun”

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

