The August that was

August was kind to me this year.

1) It started out with a visit to the famed Puerto Princesa Underground River in Palawan. It was a near-perfect business-slash-pleasure trip, from the hotel to the food to the tour inside the cave.

2) I also had the chance to spread the blogging bug as one of the resource persons in a social media workshop in Palawan. It was my first time to talk about blogging – personally and professionally – in front of a crowd. I was nervous the whole time. But I’m glad for that opportunity, because after that workshop, more of my friends and colleagues are now getting their feet wet with blogging.

I’m no blog expert. But I’m among the very few in our organization who blogs. So I’m thankful for that chance to share how blogging has helped me professionally – with my writing, connecting with other writers around the world, and with my job as a journalist and a communicator.

3) I was matched up with Hannah as my Big Blogger for Ashley Griffith’s (of After Nine to Five) Big Blogger, Little Blogger program. Hannah is charming and friendly. She and I have been emailing back and forth and I’m learning a lot from her blog. I’m seriously thinking of doing the set posts/themes like she does on her blog. This would help me blog more regularly and more often. P

4) August saw me join my first two blogging contests!

The first was for Smart Communication, Inc.’s  2nd Journ.ph Best IO Blogger contest, which is open for government information officers in Regions 6, 7, and 8 in the Philippines.

Blogger contestants should blog about writing, tips for writers/journalists, cyber laws/ethics, and other related topics that would be helpful for campus paper reporters.

Journ.ph is a WordPress-powered blog created by Smart for its online campus journalism program for student journalists to publish online their campus and community stories.

Judging of blog entries will end sometime in November this year. So far, I’ve written 4 posts. You can check them out here: chellelandia.journ.ph.

The second contest I joined was the national blog entry contest of TESDA, a Philippine government agency that provides skill development for the labor sector, local governments, and tech-vocs.

Their blogging contest enjoined bloggers from across the country to write a post about the theme: “Sa TESDA, May Choice Ka!” (With TESDA, You Have a Choice).

This contest was just timely since I earlier wrote a feature story and thereafter blogged about Eugene and Leo, two men who are now working as butchers in a meat processing company in Australia after they finished a TESDA skills training course.

For the contest, I wrote another blog post about them, this time with an update from Leo. Which leads me to the next nice thing that happened to me this August…

5) I won a minor award!

I bagged the Most Creative Blog prize. I wasn’t expecting to win at all. It was a national contest. The other bloggers who joined were what I would consider veterans in blogging. But I thought the contest was the perfect chance for me to spread the word about Eugene’s and Leo’s success story, and hopefully inspire other Filipinos having a hard time finding jobs to enroll in TESDA’s various tech-voc courses. So I focused my contest entry on them.

My first time to join contests, and my first win. Thank you, Lord! Yay!

Lastly…

6) I turned a year older this month. There was no big bash. My birthday was quiet and meaningful. I know that sounds weird, but you’ll have to read this post to see where I’m coming from. 🙂

Also, I received one of the most exciting birthday gifts this month! I don’t want to reveal what it is yet, for fear that I might jinx it. All I can say for now is that it involves air travel.

A part of me wishes time would just fast-forward until November. Is there an emoticon that shows suppressed excitement? If there is, this is where I would insert it.

So August, you have been quite generous with your favors and affection. I wish you didn’t have to end. I hope the next remaining months of 2012 would be just as generous, too.

 

Posted by

I write to live, or live to write. Whichever it is, writing is my life.

4 thoughts on “The August that was

  1. August was indeed good to you in a lot of ways. You were showered with so much blessings. Must be because it is your birth month. I’m praying December would be the same to me. Haha!

      1. No, you’re actually wrong about the double gifts. I’ve never received 2 gifts for my past birthdays/christmases. Or maybe, kuripot lang friends and family ko. Lol

Leave a Reply

