Who writes these spam comments?

Ever since I switched my blog to WordPress, I’ve discovered how really funny some spam comments can be. When I scroll through my Spam folder reading the comments, I’m sometimes tempted to hit reply and send out a snarky response.

Sad it may be, but the truth is I get more spam comments than real comments. Ha!

Who writes these spam comments, anyway? Who are these spammer people?

Since they work so hard and visit my blog often, I think I should return the favor even if just this once. I don’t want to hurt their feelings, you know. They might stop commenting and that would be truly a sad, sad thing, right?

So here goes…

From Daniela, submitted on 2012/08/07 at 10:08 pm, in response to my blog post about trouble in our neighborhood:

i’m glad to find information on this category. i’ve been trying to find in other websites, but i only found here. (link to a web inserted here)

Well, of course, you’ll only find it here on my blog. As far as I know, I’m the only one in my neighborhood who blogs.

From Clarice, in response to my post about vitrification or freezing my ovaries:

i came here just to post this comment thanking you for posting these great articles. those entertain me a lot. (link to a site here)

I’m glad that my unused ovaries have given you much entertainment, Clarice.

Here’s another from Cleonice:

could you improve your way of writing?

I’ll try, Cleonice. I’ll try very hard just for you.

From someone named Doku:

Helpful info. Lucky me I discovered your website accidentally, and I’m shocked why this accident didn’t happened earlier! I bookmarked it.

Well, that’s one beautiful accident! It’s really shocking, indeed.

From Argemira:

great posts you have here, if you update it a little often, then that would be very helpful for us. thanks a lot.

Yep, I’ll try to up the ante here and post everyday so you spammers can also frequently do your job and leave wonderful comments.

I just realized, almost 90% of the spammers use female names. What’s with that?

Posted by

I write to live, or live to write. Whichever it is, writing is my life.

5 thoughts on “Who writes these spam comments?

  1. I, myself, is tired of spam. Actually, I have my old blog (Blog.com) transferred to wordpress since it acquires 100 comments just in one post (all of which are spam). Currently, I do not have spam yet in my wordpress blog. Hopefully, I won’t receive any.

    1. Yes, WordPress anti-spam filters (Akismet) rocks. It rocks so hard that it suspended my own blog and flagged it for spam for a couple of hours last month! But kidding aside, I love how WP directs all spam in its own folder, unlike Blogspot where I used to blog.

Leave a Reply

