Palawan’s The Legend Hotel: What customer service should be

A couple of days ago, I blogged about going to Puerto Princesa, Palawan for a business/pleasure trip. Our group consisted of our agency’s staff from the provinces of Cebu, Bohol, Negros Oriental, and Siquijor. We were expecting to stay at a private residence, but instead we were billeted at The Legend Hotel.

The lobby of The Legend Hotel. Photo from Minverva BC Newman (http://newsmansblog.blogspot.com)

If you check out their website, their tagline reads: “Where Business and Pleasure Meet.” I couldn’t agree more. During our five-day stay in this hotel, we were treated almost like royalty.

We weren’t even staying at their premiere guest rooms. Since our agency is practicing austerity measures, we were billeted in the hotel’s budget pads. The pads were small, good for only two persons. But it was clean, arranged nicely to maximize spaciousness, and had TV, a phone, and numerous power outlets located conveniently near the 2 separate beds and the vanity mirror. Plus FREE wi-fi. On those points alone, I’d like to give The Legend Hotel 5 stars.

But I digress. What I want to write about is their guest relations, which I think is their biggest attraction.

I’ve stayed in various hotels in Cebu, Bohol, and Manila during business functions. But so far, The Legend Hotel outdid all of them with their customer service. From Day 1, I didn’t hear a “No” from any of the hotel staff in response to our requests. They were so accommodating and friendly; from the front desk to the pool boy.

The icy-cold welcome drinks served upon check-in. Happy, tired faces. I’m there somewhere at the back already sipping the drink.

On the day we arrived we were served cold welcome drinks. On the day that we left, we asked the server who was carrying the welcome drinks of guests who were checking in at the front desk if we could also get one last “welcome” drink as a sort of “goodbye” drink. The server left, and quickly came back and placed icy-cold drinks in front of us. With a smile.

My 3 oh so fluffy pillows. At no additional charge.

In our hotel room, I called up housekeeping and asked if we could have hot water and additional pillows brought to our room (we only had 1 pillow per bed). I asked if they charged for the additional pillows. “No, Ma’am. How many do you need?” asked the operator. Feeling cheeky, I asked for 3 (2 for me and 1 for my roomie), half-expecting a protest over the phone. “Ok, Ma’am, I will have it delivered shortly,” the operator said in a bright voice. Wow. I think that even if I asked for 5 more pillows, I’d still get the same response.

I had the bread changed to fried rice and the fish fillet with some fried fish (bulad!).

During our free complimentary breakfast, I asked the waiter if I could swaps some of the viands in the Filipino meal with those of the American meal (they only served two kinds of breakfast: American and Filipino). No problem, he said, and came back with my “customized” meal.

While you have breakfast, a pianist plays love songs.

On our last night there, a couple of the girls in our group bought drinks and food from outside. We gathered beside the pool for a little bonding session. The pool was scheduled to be closed at 10:00 pm. We asked for an extension because we were having fun chatting. After our extended time was up, the pool boy came over again and told us he has to close the pool so he can start cleaning it. Seeing our fallen faces, he suggested we  move to the hall beside the pool. He proceeded to prepare one of the tables in the hall, and switched on the lights for us (the hall was closed already). The waiter also brought over an ice bucket and bottle openers for drinks that we didn’t buy in the hotel. Talk about customer service!

I could go on and on but I think you get the point already. You see, no matter how grand and luxurious a hotel may be, if the customer service isn’t as top notch as its surroundings, guests leave disappointed. It doesn’t matter how fluffy the pillows are, how good the food is, or how nicely appointed the rooms are. Bad customer service will always leave a bad taste in the mouth.

I highly recommend those visiting Puerto Princesa in Palawan – home of the famed Undeground River – to stay in The Legend Hotel. You won’t be disappointed. There you’ll experience first-hand why Filipinos are among the most hospitable people in the world.

Disclaimer: This is so NOT a paid post. I’m writing this because I enjoyed my stay at The Legend Hotel a lot. That’s the truth and nothing but the truth.

Posted by

I write to live, or live to write. Whichever it is, writing is my life.

One thought on “Palawan’s The Legend Hotel: What customer service should be

Leave a Reply

