Prepping for a Blog Talk

I spent most of my Sunday today working on my Powerpoint for a talk that I’ll be giving about blogging. This is for my co-workers in the region during our mid-year workshop at Puerto Princesa. I’m pumped because it’s going to be my first time to visit Puerto Princesa, home of the Puerto Princesa Underground River, a UNESCO World Heritage site and the “longest navigable underground river and reputedly the most beautiful subterranean river in the world.”

But on the other hand, I’m sort of dreading it. I’ve never really felt comfortable with public speaking, although I’ve been an orator and declaimer back in college, and have done my share of hosting/moderating forums and press conferences with my work.

But stage fright is something you can never get over with, unless you swallow a handful of Valium before walking onstage, which, for the record, I’ve never tried and have no intentions of doing. (Should you happen to know where I can buy a bottle of Anti-Stage Fright pills, email me ASAP, please!)

Even though I’m pretty confident that I know what I’ll be talking about (I know blogging inside out, having gone through more than 5 blogs in 3 different platforms), the butterflies have already started fluttering in my stomach as early as now. Mostly because our big boss from Manila will be there (the Secretary of Presidential Communications Operations Office himself), plus writers from the MIMAROPA region will be joining us.

I’m close to hyperventilating just thinking about it now. Dangit.

Speaking before a crowd of people has never been my strength. I don’t get tongue-tied once the microphone is thrust into my hand; instead I do the opposite- I tend to ramble. On and on. I’m sure it’s painful to watch, just as it’s a painfully embarrassing experience for me.

Which is why I’m being so OC about my presentation. Since I’m only given about half a day (I think), I need to keep my talk tight, brief, and on point. I’ll only be focusing on the basics- what is blogging, why blog, and how to set up a blog using the Blogger platform. I chose Blogger because it’s the most user-friendly and 100% free, and also because I don’t have the luxury of time to show them the ropes in other blogging platforms.

Despite the growth of blogging, it has yet to catch on among my circle of friends and co-workers. Not a single one of my close friends blog (I really wish they did). The same is true among my colleagues in the media and the agency I work for. As far as I know, I’m the only one in the working media here in Dumaguete City and among my co-workers in the region who has a personal blog.

I don’t know why they haven’t caught the blogging bug. It could be that they’re too busy. But I suspect that it’s mostly because they don’t know how. And I hope to change that later on this month when I give my presentation.

Since majority of my audience are women, I’m trying to make my Powerpoint slides a bit more, err, attractive. Nothing like a little eye candy to keep their attention focused on the discussion!

Spicing up the PPT

I must not alienate the men, of course. A dash of Scarlett Johansson would probably do.

I don’t know any blog jokes that I can use as anecdotes to liven up my talk. If you have any suggestions, please comment away.

Posted by

I write to live, or live to write. Whichever it is, writing is my life.

One thought on “Prepping for a Blog Talk

Leave a Reply

